7 thoughts on “It is all out war”

  1. We would seldom see the ones we had on the river out and about during the day. I couldn’t tell if it was laughing or not as it went by.

    D.L. Wood

    1. That was one of three that were circling, totally unafraid of me, just waiting for me to get out of their way so they could cut down another tree. I counted fifteen beavers last night leaving the lodge to create more destruction. This is, WAR! Right down to, The Last One Standing, be it me or a beaver.

      1. “Armasight….” Yeah I put that on my when I win the lotto list. lol

        “….I was going to get S&H Green Stamp….”
        I hadn’t thought about S&H Green Stamps in years. Damn everybody uses to save those, at least in my family. My grandmother used to save some kind of another type of trading stamp too. It was more of a local thing as I think about it. I remember they were blue. Okay the almighty Google knew – not local just a competitor of S&H.

        “Blue Chip Stamps started as a trading stamps company called “Blue Chip Stamp Co.” They were a competitor to S&H Green Stamps.” Started 1963. ” Berkshire Hathaway, the investment vehicle of Warren Buffett, began investing in Blue Chip Stamps in 1970.” “According to Buffett’s 2006 letter to Berkshire shareholders, Blue Chip had 1970 sales of $126 million as about 60 billion of “stamps were licked by savers, pasted into books, and taken to Blue Chip redemption stores.” He also said, “When I was told that even certain brothels and mortuaries gave stamps to their patrons, I felt I had finally found a sure thing.” Sales dropped to $19.4 million in 1980 and $1.5 million in 1990. In 2006, revenues came in at $25,920″ As I remember when my parents first moved to Illinois in the late 60’s S&H had a big building along one of the expressways. But as with a lot of the stuff of the 50’s and 60’s the stamps went away.

        It’s just a good thing there are other things to lick and get rewarded for the effort.

        D.L. Wood

Leave a comment